Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

NE 15th Ave, Blossoming Lotus restaurant.

Just after taking this shot I turned the corner to carry on my way when I noticed a woman feeding some small kittens near the garage of someone's house. Of course I stopped to talk. The woman had begun to feed the cat family some kibble when she'd noticed the kittens eating rotting tomatoes in the yard of a neighbor's house nearby and knew she had to step in, she just didn't know what to do next, she lived in an apartment and couldn't take them in herself. I looked up the number of the local rescue organization (thank goodness for smart phones!) that we'd adopted Naboo and Doyle from and she called and left them a message. We stood and talked a little longer, one of the braver kittens that had got used to her was gently head butting her on the leg, she said it was the first time since she'd started feeding them that this kitten had done that. If the folks I put her in contact with can't take them in they'll know who to call next. Hopefully this is the start of a positive new chapter for mama cat and her kittens.

I've been in the position of writing about several animal rescue situations this year.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.