Blasé

I'm drawn to it, this building, this bit of the street. Time and time again. The North British Rubber Company building with the windows that are boarded-up in silver ply that shines in the sun and makes me think that there's a miniature version of Andy's Factory going on in the neighbourhood.

(And the obvious thing to do now is link to a bit of Velvet Underground or Lou Reed but we'll save that for tomorrow maybe, after all it's not like this building's about to disappear overnight)

So, I've been listening to a lot of what often gets called 'astral jazz' this week, but don't be put off by that title - jazz , like ridicule (as someone once said) is nothing to be scared of. I will freely admit though that this stuff isn't your polite, background, tinkling away kind of jazz, this is full-on, upfront and in your face jazz, a mighty and righteous rumpus. And I love it.

Couple of great mixes I found on Soundcloud, there's a bit of a crossover in the tracklistings but plenty there to get your teeth into from Optimo's JD Twitch and another from The Awkward Sons.

The Track That Gives This Blip Its Title

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.