Not Portobello People and Places

In many UK hotels The Gideon's Society have placed Bibles for the travellers' spiritual sustenance. I did not know that something similar operates in some Middle Eastern hotels until this morning when I was packing up to fly home. I opened a cupboard and found this Koran, in translation. It was placed on a folded Prayer Mat (made in Turkey) complete with compass for orientating in the direction of Mecca. The moving map on my homebound plane also has a Mecca finding Pointer giving continually changing compass bearing and distance to Mecca in kilometres. ( It is currently pointing SSE and a distance of 3458km! ) My day began with the sun rising over the dunes of Doha. It ended with a Trans Pennine Express train ride home to Auld Reekie from Manchester airport!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.