Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Memories

So the planning for the funeral has now begun. I came up with the idea of having a small slide show of images of my Granddads life to be shown at Church as some part of the service. Everybody agreed that that would be a good idea. So I spent some of today going through Gran's tin of pictures looking for suitable pictures to scan in to use as part of the slide show.

It was an amazing tin full of loads of photos from the 40s, 50s and 60s from a small Yorkshire village. It was good to look through them, and I would like to spend some more time looking through them with my Gran to learn a bit more about my ancestors and my home village.

We also visited the undertakers to start making arrangements for the funeral. While I was in the office my eye was caught by a display of 'Specialty Hearses', and the top of the list was a Land Rover Defender Hearse. It brought a smile to my face and brought a touch lightness to another difficult day. I wouldn't mind being sent off in one of those, it did say in the small print it was particularly popular with farmers and country people!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.