#Lovember the 13th: Family part 1.

Gemma.

And now the important stuff.

(I've been meaning to do this since deciding on this Lovember theme. I've only put it off because I was wary of refusals, silly faces and running away. But today I pounced on Gemma in her bedroom and pointed the camera at her. She didn't like it but for once she didn't stop me. )

Gemma made me a very happy and excited mother in July 1994 when I was 24 and found out I was pregnant. She made me an official mother in February 1995 when I was 25, but I'd already spent 7 months thinking of very little else but her arrival.
To me becoming a mother was my purpose and my everything. I was always nervous about admitting this because for some reason this isn't enough in our modern world. You always have to be doing something else to be a whole person. But, well... 19 years on I can see how you don't have to make stuff up for other people.

So... Gemma is nearly 19. She is really deep and intelligent. She is quiet and creative, and imaginative like you would not believe. Her drawing talent is quite outstanding and her ability to produce a picture from a combination of memory, imagination and delicate attention to detail is something that has to be seen to be believed. She is quite amazing - and I'm not saying this just because I'm her mother but because I know. She is also musical and plays the guitar beautifully. I feel a thread of humility and social conscience that I think runs through our family from my father. She doesn't judge, she doesn't show off and she never pushes. In this world of "giving it 110%" and wanting everything "so badly" she seems almost apathetic, but that isn't so. She simply isn't greedy for fame or fortune or recognition. She just wants to be herself. I think she is also a talented writer but because I like to write she'll probably not write until I'm out of the way! ;o)
Gemma is a vegetarian, an observer, a listener. She feels North Devon is too limiting for her at her age but loves it and appreciates that she has a beautiful home. I think she would be at home in a city for a few years until the surge of youth and adventure has had its fun with her head and her hormones. She reminds me of me, but don't tell her I said that...

Gemma surprised us by not wanting to be academic. She could do anything she wants to and is a fast learner. She has taught us that very bright people don't have to bag hundreds of "Im a very bright person" labels. Instead she wants to be one of the people and has chosen to be a tattooist. Of course she will be brilliant at this - one of the best in fact, with her talents. She has recently been given a chance at an apprenticeship as a tattooist and we are learning to see that this is a good thing because it makes her happy.

Those are her drawings on the wall behind her. I had to put them up because she feels uncomfortable displaying her own artwork.

I can see how people who are prepared to show off and sell themselves might get richer or more well-known, but I can see how people who don't might be more inspirational because they have no urge to detach themselves from the masses.

We adore Gemma and are incredibly proud of her. For me, that pride is mostly because I know she is a decent human being and that's my top aspiration as a mother.

We probably find fault with her too often and in ways that other people don't see, so for that I am sorry, but, let's face it: we have to live with her!

2 days later...
I've switched the photo to the one I originally wanted to use but thought she wouldn't approve of. As it happens she didn't like the one I used!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.