phlog

By phlog

Next it's, 'I've fallen and I can't get up!'

Well, I guess this is the weekend that it happens: I get...ahem!...old.

Tonight Phyllis and I went to a local sandwich shop that we like...and decided that we could just share a meal. So we got the special -- two Chicago-style hot dogs, an order of fries, and a soft drink. We had to supplement with another drink, of course. But there we sat, looking over our first shared single meal. I remember grandparents and cute couples of aunts and uncles sharing meals this way. I remember sitting through a meal with my Aunt Helen and Uncle Gene throughout which Gene complained every couple minutes or so, "Why do they give you so much potatoes? Who could EAT all these potatoes, fer Chrissake?!"

So we shared a Chicago hot dog special intended for a single robust person with some remaining blush of youth on them.

But wait!

We then remembered that the reason we ran out for a bite of dinner in the first place was because we had some errands to run to get ready to leave early in the morning on a weekend ... wait for it ... BUS TRIP with a group from the nearby Nathan Manilow Sculpture Park -- I'm a volunteer docent there -- for a weekend visiting another sculpture park in Michigan. MY FIRST GROUP BUS EXCURSION!!!!

Oh, woe is me.


Gotta run and get packed. (Note to self: Must make sure to remember my pills!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.