Scarlett O'Hara

By scarlett

A Fine Line

I was doing some of the 'what do you want to do with your career' discussions this morning. One very bright, talented, competent and driven girl told me that she didn't think there was very much more she could learn about the business, acquire any further skills or needed to improve. I'm not often stuck for words, but I have to admit I was floored. She is 25 YEARS OLD.

There is a very fine line between confidence and arrogance, and she crossed it.

In contrast, I came home to find this lovely man applying care and skill to rebuilding the wall of the barn that the cows had pushed over. ( I was nowhere near it, nothing to do with me!). I made him several cups of coffee as he patiently answered all my questions about the stone and what he was doing. He has been a craftsman for many years and told me each day brings a new challenge and that most days he walks away having learned something new.

I think we all learned a lot today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.