Pass to freedom

I've done something similar before But it is after all my annual DOC (Department of Conservation) back country hut pass, so annual blip it shall be ;-)

My last overnight trip went to a free hut (unusual but it was basic) and since the date of issue is where the 12 months starts ticking from, I tend to cut it pretty fine so I maximise the use. No point buying one weeks before I intend using it.

Last year I got around $180 worth of nights in huts for the $85 my annual hut pass cost. Without the annual pass you need individual tickets for each night you spend in a hut, which start at as little as $5 - $15 per night (with some exceptions on the Great Walks).

Plenty of people cheat and don't pay but that's pretty unfair. DOC gets little enough as it without people 'stealing' facilities. It mostly relies on honesty unless you happen to be in a hut when DOC staff are there, in which case no pay, no hut.

Anyway, enough of the negative stuff, I'm out of here in less than 12 hours away to the hills for 2 nights. I'm even taking fishing stuff :-) My gear is mostly sorted but still have a bit to do in order for all the last bits and pieces to fall into place.

Hopefully a chat to Mum and a wee relax will round my evening out before I head to bed. My alarm will go at 5am tomorrow - eek!

Happy Show Weekend Canterbury blippers :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.