One of the good guys

There are people out there who believe there is no such thing as a good fly (you know who you are).

But I am here to tell you that this is one of the good guys.

It's a tiny thing, no bigger than my little finger nail, but there is something extremely disturbing abut a fly that deliberately turns its head and has eye to eye contact with you.

I'm pretty sure it's a bee fly - the way it holds its wings is typical (in a swept back fashion) and the wing patterning all tell me that's what it is. But what it's sucking on I have no idea. I'm not sure it was all that palatable, because after it had finished, it started to blow bubbles. It had a good clean up and then went back to parading along its leaf.

I spent ages watching it - partly to try and get a good shot, but also because I was fascinated by the behaviour.

Check out the eyes.

EDIT: I've just posted a picture of Bertie here, blowing bubbles, in my folio. Click to the left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.