sunshineband

By KC2013

Velvety Sunset

Took this on the walk home from work. The sky was a glorious deep velvet blue, infused with swirls of pink.

I also popped into the Portrait Gallery - they open late on a Thursday - to see the Viviane Sassen exhibition. I'd been excited about it; hadn't heard of her before but liked the sound of the blurb: "Dutch-born Viviane Sassen is one of the most exciting figures in contemporary fashion photography. Her imagery is challenging and flamboyant, formally inventive and occasionally surreal."

It didn't come across like that to me. Quite a lot of the images felt random and, at times, brutal. I'd expected more exuberance and, indeed, flamboyance. Emerged feeling a little gloomy instead.

Cheered myself up with a trip round the 'Tickling Jock' exhibition - several generations of Scottish comedy greats. Delighted to discover where where the 'lorne' in lorne sausage comes from... (It was named for a comedian called Tommy Lorne who was famous between the wars; there was a clip from one of his routines included in the exhibition that had me crying with laughter.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.