MDC Potter's Studio

My friend Marcia is a wonderful potter. For many years she taught classes in her studio, and I was fortunate enough to be able to learn a great deal about the process from types of clay and glaze, to the differences in methods of construction. Unfortunately, I am not a wonderful potter, but we had a lot of fun until that fact became obvious.

I am staying with her, so today we went out to the studio to look at a new batch of things from a wood fire she participated in recently. A potter in the Napa Valley invites a select few people to participate in chopping wood, loading their work into the kiln, feeding a constant supply of wood into the flames in shifts round the clock, waiting for the kiln to cool and unloading it.

The results are unpredictable, unique and beautiful.

Our house is filled with Marcia's work from coffee cups and plates to big vases and bowls. My collection grew a bit today....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.