Mr Urbanski

This portrait of Mr Urbanski, the well known owner of the little leather shop in Lauriston Street where my bag was being fixed, was a hard won subject for my blip today.
I have to admit there was a fair bit of flirting on my part before he went off stage to check with his wife to see if it was OK for me to take his photo.
No doubt he told her that he was safe from predatory females since His Lordship was present throughout.
Apparently she must have agreed because he allowed me just one pose, and this is it.

I have to say he is quite a charmer and happy to talk about his time in Italy with the allies in WWII and his connection with Wojtek the cigarette smoking, beer drinking bear, and mascot of the Polish Army. The bear fought alongside the soldiers, carrying ammunition for them and was elevated to the rank of Corporal.

At the end of the war Mr Urbanski came to Britain along with parts of II Corps of the Polish troops and the bear, and they were stationed at Hutton near Duns before being demobilized.

Wojtek ended his days in Edinburgh Zoo, being visited by former Polish soldiers who tossed him cigarettes which he ate because there was no one to light them for him.
There is a statue to Wojtek in Princes Street Gardens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.