Robbwood1973

By Robbwood1973

DEFIANT

I often walk home from work. This takes around half an hour and is a pleasant time to unwind, reflect on the day and look forward to the sanctuary of home. This evening I had my camera. I was seeking an image for my second blip. I had no expectation and was content I would find something of interest, even if only for me. The last leg of my meandering is along a tree-lined creek. As it was in fading springtime light I was hoping for a scene depicting the tranquillity I obtain from such surroundings.

However...even before leaving the precincts of my rural town and even from a distance, the piercing eyes and defiant expression of this apparition in front of me was the very last image I could ever imagine I would be posting.

I was puzzled by the pink tinge on his coat. My guess it was the run-off from some antiseptic. For as I got closer it was obvious he had been in quite a scrap as one ear was bloodied with very extensive laceration of the skin. I was trying to picture this handsome creature pre battle, for he had a presence even with his injury and dirty, matted coat and tail. He remained very still, continuing to stare right at me. That utter look of defiance and those unnerving eyes. It was only then that I thought to raise my camera.

My sunsets and water reflections can wait for another day.

Large = how I saw him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.