Jenks01

By Jenks01

Tribute

For my last blip of the Mine week, here is a little tribute to those brave men.

My shift just started its dark down here
There are three trapped miners
Back there in the rear
Their families are waiting
At the face of the mine
To see if these miners
Make it out this time
They’ve all made it out as the crowd starts to cheer
Why, we’ve not had an accident in over a year
Hands are clapping, the folks are sincere
Just what happened is still not clear
This coal mine is dreary but the pay is good,
I sure would leave here, if only I could
There are mouths to feed and bills to pay,
You’ve got to work somewhere
So I’ll just stay
JESUS loves me, in my heart, I know
He chose me to work down here in this coal
He made me strong
And gives me the courage
To be not afraid
To mine coal that he laid
I need overtime
To make an extra dollar
As I walk on deeper
This holes getting smaller
LORD, be my guiding light
As I work here tonight
When this shift is over
And I go outside
I will look forward
To that sweet sun so bright
Thank You for your blessings, in each and everyway
These things I ask my Savior, each and everyday
I’m proud to tell you that I’m a coal miner
And the men I work with, couldn’t be finer
Working in this mine is a nature study
You’ve got to be safe and watch out
For your buddy
My back sure hurts
But I feel lucky
It’s a real good job
In the valleys of Wales

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.