wooden bridge

A wooden bridge crosses the Koksilah River in Cowichan Station. A similar bridge over the Chemainus River will be replaced soon. Our wooden bridge will one of a kind.

I spent many summer hours on the bridge from which I jumped into the Koksilah River. The challenge was to jump into a deep pool that was beside a large rock. Fortunately I landed in the pool and not on the rock.

My friends and I also rode our bicycles down the steep hill at great speed and onto the single lane bridge. Once a friend used her bare foot to slow her bike. She dragged her foot over the wooden bridge deck. She received a sliver that entered the bottom of her foot and came out at the back of her heel. Ouch!

After fifty-five years I still visit this bridge, walk over it and under it. Now it has a pedestrian walkway. When we played on the bridge, it had only a road deck for automobiles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.