Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Milestone

A month after the last leg I resumed my walk along the Bradford Millennium Way.  After a three bus journey to Laycock I headed up and across the high pastures with extensive views toward the Yorkshire dales and peaks opening up before me.  

The descent into Airedale brought me into Eastburn, where this Keighley & Kendal Turnpike milestone spoke of a time when this route perhaps had more significance than today.  Then the least anticipated part of the walk, the boggy trudge through Silsden Ings which included walking across the Airedale rail line and the busy dual carriageway that has now bisected the original footpath route.  I wasn't alone in this stretch though.

After negotiating the third artery of this transport corridor, the Leeds-Liverpool Canal, it was a final couple of miles across to Silsden where I called it a day.  This included the hidden gem of the Barden Aqueduct, one of the water engineering works that was so significant in the development of Bradford as a city. Then a distinctive circular sheep fold and a final bonus of a ghost sign opposite the bus stop as I waited to start the journey home.

I can sense the days getting shorter now, it felt like twilight from around one o'clock, which is one reason why I've selected a simple, high contrast image from a day which wasn't great for photography.

And on the other side of the milestone...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.