SueScape

By SueScape

A week in the Life ....

It has been a hectic week since we got home, not so good for blipping or commenting, for which my apologies. At last we are making our mark on our new home, only in small ways as it was fairly newly converted when we bought it. The bedroom is now finished, another row of wardrobes and two matching bedside chests of drawers on Monday. I still have a bit of upholstering to do, eventually.

Tuesday the kitchen guy came out for final measurements. I mentioned before that the kitchen is like the bridge of the Starship Enterprise, all minimal, cool and smart, not at all homely or my taste. It’s two tone, so I’m replacing the dark walnut parts with blonde oak doors, the kind with a panel so it will start to look a bit more traditional. The house is built in the Sussex cottage style, the Star Trek kitchen did not suit it. I’m also getting the kitchen guy to put up small beams and a plate rack in the same blonde oak and there is a glass china cabinet to match. We have a fitting date before Christmas if all goes well. A modern take on the traditional look I like, and much less than the cost of a whole new kitchen

Wednesday I had the dentist look at some problems I’d been having. One huge infection and one rotten tooth – that’s under a crown, not the easiest of things. Back next Monday for extraction. Can’t remember last time I had one. Not looking forward to it.

Thursday I was at the gynaecologist’s who I see every now and then, in between visits to the oncologist. She’s lovely, very caring and open, and pleased to see me looking so well. The results are as good as I could hope with recurring cancer. The aim is to make it a chronic disease rather than a terminal one. Grim, but hopeful as chronic can be treated. It’s hard to get my head round the fact that I’ll most likely need more chemo, especially when I had such a difficult time with the last lot, with allergic reactions. But I was oddly cheered up by her manner and honesty.
BTW, why is it that as soon as you get your legs in the air, very akimbo, the gynaecologist decides to start a conversation through the gap??

Thursday and Friday we had some solar panels fitted, hopefully saving some money eventually. I’m still considering underfloor heating in kitchen and bathroom, and as that would run off the solar panels, it won’t be a constant worry whether to switch on or not.

Yesterday was also supermarket shopping day, and I was so tired I really suspect I wasn’t fit to drive. Probably all the tension and emotion I’ve been holding in all week. I got honked at, but I still felt safer than the guy honking who was speeding to get past me through town in his giant 4x4.

Our son and dear S popped round this afternoon, and hopefully another restful day tomorrow.

Happy Weekend Everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.