Gingercatpix

By Gingercatpix

Meet me at Maules

Walking down Lothian Rd I saw the House of Fraser building lit up with the last rays of the sun. I have always thought it was a fine building but did not know much about it. Scouring the web I found a few snippets.

- Osborne Hotel until damaged by fire in 1879.
- 1879: Scottish Liberal Club
- 1904: Robert Maule & Co, Department Store, boasting one of the first tea rooms and electric lifts in Edinburgh. The store was expanded to include 145 +145A Princes Street in 1928.
The store's advertising slogan was: "Meet me at Maules". This corner of Edinburgh became a popular meeting place, though the clock under which people meet was not added until 1960., then
- 1931: Binns & Sons, the result of an acquisition following the death of Robert Maull
- 1976: Frasers, though Binns had, in fact, been owned by House of Fraser since 1953

Info courtesy of http://www.edinphoto.org.uk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.