BabyMaybe

By BabyMaybe

IVF Journey: 6w6d pregnant

This is my IVF diary. My husband and I have been trying to have a baby for four years now, and have a diagnosis of 'unexplained infertility'. We have finally reached the top of the waiting list for IVF - a form of assisted conception. I'm blogging about what happens as it happens, as a kind of therapy for me and as an awareness raising exercise of what IVF is all about.

So the husband and I are now released from the IVF clinic and are to be integrated with the fertiles in the Scottish maternity system.

When we left the clinic yesterday we were given a letter for my GP to confirm the successful IVF and we dropped this in to the surgery on our way home. We were also given a number to call to book in with midwife services.

I gave this a ring a few times and it just rang out with no answerphone. Got through on about the fifth attempt.

It is a centralised service for midwife services. Press one for first appointments, press two if you’re in labour. No, seriously.

The person on the phone took a few details from me – my name, date of birth, address and GP. She then asked for the date of my last period. This is irrelevant in IVF, so I told her I was IVF and instead she asked for the number of weeks pregnant and whether I had already had a scan.

She was then able to give me a date to see a midwife at my GP surgery (early December) and a date for the 12 week scan. This could either be the week before Christmas or 31st December, so of course I took the earlier option!

I’m told this will be all confirmed by letter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.