Scribbler

By scribbler

Fragile connection

Leaves on the sidewalk, fragile in the rain. (SOOC)

FRAGILE is today's DDW challenge topic.


All summer the leaves, bright with chlorophyll, feed the trees and freshen the air, clinging tightly. Gradually the sap descends and the connection weakens. The first big storm rips many leaves from their sockets. Even as they blaze with fiery colors, they are preparing to let go. Soon even a gentle breeze or a gentle rain like today's is enough to break their fragile hold on the tree that gave them life. Red, rust, yellow, green, all eventually let go.

I too am about to release a connection: the writing group that has been a source of camaraderie and encouragement for the past two years. All during that time my goal has been to return to my novel. Now I have, and must give it my full attention.

Does the leaf, as it twirls to the ground, feel grateful to the tree? I feel grateful to the writers who nourished my fragile hold on the book I'm now dancing to complete.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.