Home Run!

This is the photo I was looking forward to. Today's marathon was without doubt the best so far. It may not have been my fastest (although I will wait to see the adjusted time on my certificate before I assert that), and I may have been way off of my (admittedly unrealistic) target (hey, shoot for the moon and land among the stars, right?) but I did do better than ever in some important ways. One; this is the first time I have ever run non-stop (except for a pee. once.) Second, I had no pain. OK, my legs started to get tired in the last four kilometers, but otherwise I felt. And, as I said, the tiredness was not enough to make me stop running. So, if I can pick up the pace a notch, I think the four hours thirty target is achievable. It may take me a few more marathons to achieve it, but I think I can.

Anyway, please enjoy a few more photographs in my blipfolio. The first two photographs I took before the race started. As you can see, it was a beautiful day for a marathon; sunny, and not too cold. I'm glad I decided to wear shorts and a T-shirt rather than my thermal running gear. I met the Men In Black and a panda en route. Seriously; can you imagine running in a suit and tie or a panda suit? Nuts! These guys passed me at what was the 30 km point for them; that's twelve kilometers for me. Insane! A wonderful view of the Kobe skyline as we crossed the bridge to Port Island. And here's the uncropped photograph that the whole thing was about. Uncropped. That means you get to see the legs which did all the work. I've been told that they would be lovely legs for a woman if I shaved them. Is that a compliment? Whatever, they certainly have never let me down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.