Chris Malcolm

By ChrisMalcolm

Midwinter is coming

I'm deliberately avoiding the heavily polluted term 'Xmas'. It's a very ancient pre-Christian midwinter festival, older than any language now spoken or known, very old, prehistoric.

No, it's not baby Jesus' birthday either. That was the early Christians editing their history in order to annexe the pagan midwinter festival as their own. And Santa Claus wasn't a Christian saint either. My doc wants me to lower my blood pressure so I'd better not get started on what the worshippers of Mammon have done to 'Xmas'!

This is a cultivar of the genus Schulmbergera, originally from Brazil. This one is probably of the Buckleyi group of cultivars. Looks to me as though it's waiting for a large insect with a hairy back, such as a bee. I wonder if flowers feel disappointment?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.