Mikey88

By Mikey88

Macro Robin - 2

Another shot of the robin taken with my macro lens. I set the camera up on the tripod and put it in place next to the branch where I was going to put the food, went in to get the food, and when I came out again, the robin was sitting on my camera!

It flew into the nearby bushes as I approached and I knelt and set the camera up, put the food on the branch and waited. I only had to wait a couple of minutes and then it came and landed on the opposite side of the branch to where I had aimed the focus point. Slowly, I moved my hand to the camera and turned it without disturbing the bird. It didn't react to the shutter firing and I managed about seven or eight pictures before it finished the food and flew to a branch on my left.

It was still only a couple of feet away, so I went and got some more food and put it on the branch. The robin had stayed where it was, and it must have been full, as it sat there watching me as I watched it, and then began preening itself. This went on for about ten minutes and then it decided it was hungry again, and came back to the branch. I got another seven or eight shots and then it left again.

It's a real privilege being within arms length of a wild bird, and the camera was about a foot away from it, so I was impressed that it wasn't disturbed both by the camera turning as I re-positioned it, and the shutter firing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.