The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Lacock

It has taken far longer to complete my third year of blipping than it did the first two. After my 500th consecutive blip on 12 August 2011 I started to leave deliberate gaps, wanting to avoid Blip Bloat. Mostly, my write-ups are a commentary on events surrounding my blip, but occasionally the journal entry is the main concern and the picture something concocted to accompany it. Photography takes up the majority of my waking hours, even when I don't blip, as dealing with the pictures I've taken takes far, far longer than the process of actually taking them, as I expect we all know. I am full of awe at those who manage to post every day, especially those who also find time to comment - something I have had regrettably less time for in recent months, though I do still look and read every journal entry that I subscribe to.

As my first blip was on 26 March 2010, this is somewhat late as a third anniversary, but as it is a significant date on Blipfoto it is an opportunity to thank those at Blip and all those who visit these pages, without whom this journal would be spectacularly pointless.

On the day prior to this blip I made a trip into Bath to collect my new weather-resistant Pentax 55-300mm lens. It was dark when I emerged from the shop and I took no pictures there at all, so I went to Lacock the next day to try it out and have a look at Anthony Rogers' outdoor wooden sculptures in an exhibition entitled Strata at Lacock Abbey. Fittingly, for a sort of birthday celebration, I used the new lens for the first time, as well as my 12-24mm and 17-70mm lenses, and took pictures of the sculptures and of the captivating autumn colours in the grounds. I had to choose one taken with the new lens to blip so I have chosen these oak leaves.

L.
18.11.2013

Blip #1095
Consecutive Blip #006
Day #1323

Alternatives:
Lacock Abbey
Vortex Seat by Anthony Rogers
Strata V by Anthony Rogers
Autumn Leaves By The Pool

Lacock and Anthony Rogers' Strata sculptures, 7/13/17 November 2013 (Flickr set)

Lenses: Pentax 12-24mm, Pentax 17-70mm, Pentax 55-300mm

Lacock series

Chainsaw art to go on show at Lacock (Gazette and Herald page)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Joni Mitchell - Be Cool (2002)
Joni Mitchell was born on 7 November 7 1943, 70 years ago on this day, in Fort Macleod, Alberta, Canada. This is the version of Be Cool from Travelogue. Vince Mendoza composed the 70-piece orchestral arrangements, and Wayne Shorter plays the soprano sax, as he did on the original version from Wild Things Run Fast (1982).

One year ago: Berhills Farm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.