PorridgeWog

By PorridgeWog

Morning walk

DDW's November Challenge Day 18 : Something I do every day

Every morning, just after I have breakfast, Evie the wonderdog surfaces from her bed and wanders across to me. She has a stretch, a shake and a big yawn which tends to finish in a bit of a squeak. She fixes me with her gaze and stands waving her tail. Sigyn the inquisitive clambers up on my lap, pokes me with her big stubby nose and then looks out the window, squeaking. They both know that I will be taking them for a short walk very soon.
We go the same place every day, parking at the graveyard at Warbeth and then we walk down to the shore. I lose myself in my thoughts while the dogs snuffle the grass and chase around after each other. We generally wander to the same place before turning around and heading back to the car. Its only half an hour or so, unless the tide is out and the dogs go mad on the beach, but it is a great way to start the day.
This morning my thoughts were full of the plans for the day, a day which has been a long time coming, and I didn't really mind the hailstones and the strong wind. Evie wasn't so happy about the hailstones.
The days of my walks on this bit of shore every morning are numbered, because today I collected the keys to the house which HV and I have bought. The dream has started.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.