KatGirl

By katgirl

Minecraft TNT Cake

Bob's Cub Scout troop has a Cake Bake Auction on Tuesday evening. It is a fundraiser and the scouts and their parents are supposed to bake cakes with a theme. I am traveling to Florida Monday to see my Mom, so I promised Bob we would bake his cake this weekend.

The themes could be Scouting, Sports, Entertainment, or Misc. Bob originally wanted to do a toilet cake and I probably should have agreed to that. But the idea of eating a toilet seemed disgusting - what parent would pay big bucks to buy such a cake? So instead, I perused Pinterest for interesting cakes and found this one. How hard could it be?

It wasn't that hard. Except for the frosting. I never want to make red frosting ever again. I used a whole tube of red food coloring and had to go back to the store for more. After 3 packages of grocery store food coloring, the frosting was finally a light red, but it was far too runny. So at 3:15 PM, I headed out to the craft store for super concentrated red. I ran home and whipped up another batch of frosting and in my haste got powdered sugar all over the kitchen floor (much to the delight of Cleo who now believes in Heaven) and food coloring all over my hands. I was racing against the clock to get it done before 5:45, when we had to leave for dinner at my brother's house.

The cake was done in time. We enjoyed a lovely dinner, but by the time we got home, I was too tired to pack. A 5am wake up call for me...

Next year, maybe we will try the toilet cake. White frosting sounds delightful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.