Moonlight on the ...Mud

The back room is almost finished. There may be a blip before too long. However there is a teeny fly in the ointment; a small leak has developed at one of the radiator compression joints (I removed it for the plasterer y'see). I've stared at the thing. It still leaks. I tightened it some more (it still leaks). I read about compressions joints:
It is critical to avoid over-tightening the nut or else the integrity of the compression fitting will be compromised by the excessive force. If the nut is overtightened the ferrule will deform improperly causing the joint to fail. Indeed, overtightening is the most common cause of leaks in compression fittings.
Sheet. And a carpet arrives Thursday morning. The system will need drained. New bits will need bought. And fitted. I will sleep uneasily. Perhaps though, I'll awake and it will magically have fixed itself! That's possible isn't it? Night, all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.