Robbwood1973

By Robbwood1973

Harvest beside the Highway

Today was my rostered day off.
We headed up the Hume Hwy to Albury on a mission.
We are renovating out back verandah.
Screening in, tiling and insulating to be precise.
It proved a productive exercise and a wonderful day in the company of my wife.

This excursion to the next aforementioned major town north is about 70km and takes 45 minutes.

We enjoy driving on this great rural infrastructure. It is a time to think, converse or sit in comfortable silence and take in the ever changing and vast Australian scenery.

The Hume Hwy or Highway 31 joins two of Australia’s major capital cities.

Namely Melbourne and Sydney.
The first rough track was made between them in November 1842 and it is now a two-way highway for the whole 1000 kilometres!

I always marvel at the engineering and the sheer scale of the expertise, time and work that has culminated in this major artery of our country.

I like to contemplate my lifetime of taxes were funnelled to this very section we were on today and I am driving on my “my road”. Well, a 100 metres possibly?

Again, my need for a blip resulted in my attempting to portray what stretches out from our mobile vantage point.

Although not quite summer, the land famed as a sunburnt country is drying out rapidly and harvesting of crops and grass is almost complete.

From my final culling I chose the above taken at the height of the midday sun, with the paddock of half collected round hay bales and the front-end loader tractor deserted while the farmer is at lunch.

I like large.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.