ElectricFish

By ElectricFish

Rogerstown Sunset

The photo shows brent geese coming in off the fields, across the Rogerstown estuary in North County Dublin, as they settle for the night on the safer mudflats well away from the dangers of fox inhabited headlands.
As often as possible I get to watch the sunrise and the sunset whether in the hills or on the shoreline. In the early morning I settle myself for another special show when the grey shadows transform into birds, rocks and trees and on a bad day sunset delivers a special calming beauty and an implied promising hope for the future…..and for me it works….
Sunrise is both mystical and rewarding….If cloud cover denies the sun’s path across the water it delivers through the cries of oystercatchers, curlew and Brent geese or crow, blackbird and starling in the hills as they busy themselves for the coming day……If the rain, mist or clouds deny me an expected show of colour well I am up and out and watching….and happy…..Another day lucky to watch and listen. Another day to take in so much of what life has to offer…… Another day to chat with friends….. Another day to learn from friendly strangers….. Another day not to sit at home watching daytime tv or talking to the walls that Shirley Valentine found entertaining….. but not me…… Today as I watched the sun resume it’s never ending journey I thought of a friend and the despairing chasm she faces and don’t know what I can do to help to bridge the void….but there’s comfort in knowing she knows I am always here to talk…….just saying

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.