The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

'The North wind doth blow.......'

On my way back across the new tennis courts at work today, wondering what I could blip I looked up and noticed this weather vane...I also noticed the wind was coming directly from the North.....not a good sign!
I guess if nothing else it explains the current cold snap! it will be nice if it is frosty at the weekend, there might be some good blips to be had.
On another note, I went to the school I currently work at, and in those days ('69 - '75 )this weather vane was in pride of place on the fence surrounding the tennis courts, these days it is just on a large metal pole on what remains of the tennis court chain link fence, spliced between a hut and the new housing estate.. It is looking a bit worse for the wear these days, with the E and S missing and the arrow rusty but sometimes if I close my eyes I can be back in those days .......... I will leave you with the poem

The North wind doth blow and we shall have snow,
And what will poor robin do then, poor thing?
He'll sit in a barn and keep himself warm
and hide his head under his wing. poor thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.