From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

A blue day

Brrrrrrrr! It was a chilly, blue day as had been forecast but it doesn't look like we are going to be knee deep in snow this week. I have decided it can snow when I am in Ayr. Actually, they don't get much snow by the sea. Too much salt I suppose.

After my shower, I ran down the stairs in time for the Daz Doorstep Challenge - Name That Tune type thing - and then spotted the moon shining in through the kitchen blinds. These home working days are often hopeless for blips especially round here. I thought I'd better catch the moon while it was still up there.

I grabbed my camera from the front room and went out the back without putting the outside light on. That was dodgy in itself as it's all ancient wonky paving slabs on the patio bit. I nearly fell over and ended up grabbing onto the bird feeder to steady myself. Fortunately it's stuck firmly in the ground and didn't topple. Once I'd stopped shivering in the icy morning air, I took my picture. I nearly slid over on something peculiar and prayed it was just wet leaves. I walked carefully up the side of the house before putting the outside light on, something I should have done to start with. I'd trodden in fox shit by the look of it. Fortunately, the cold had stopped it going all squishy. Sorry about that! I hope you have finished your dinner. Actually you'll be on your bedtime cocoa by the time I post this so I won't worry.

Anyway, the rest of the work day trundled on in it's usual way. I didn't have to phone anyone today thank goodness so I only spoke to Tesco Man exchanging the usual banal pleasantries when he turned up at 10.10.

That's it! Nothing else happened today. I felt a bit down after I had finished work. It's the cold weather and dark days I think. I rang mom and ordered the Tesco shopping for the end of the week and then put some music on to chase the blues away with an album I hadn't listened to for years. It certainly helped. The album was Stan Webb's Chicken Shack - Stan the Man.

Track? My absolute favourite from the album and the best version of this song ever (in my opinion anyway) written in 1951 by Roy Hawkins and made famous by B. B. King - The Thrill Is Gone

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.