SomethingAwful

By SomethingAwful

Truth be told, I got sick of taking photos quite quickly on this trip. I often find that when I have a camera on me I feel compelled to take a picture of everything I find remotely aesthetic, and then get annoyed when I see that I couldn't make it look as nice on camera, and sort of go on in such a fashion for the rest of the day. And also I love blip, but sometimes it feels like a chore... which you'll notice is reflected in my hole-y calendar! Some days I simply haven't taken a good photo, or haven't seen anything worth photographing, and while I'd usually try to fill the gaps no matter what, I've come to the conclusion that it's better for my love of blip if I don't force it - if you have nothing to say, don't say anything... and if you have nothing worthwhile to blip, don't blip it! And obviously I am exempt from critique in that regard because 'worthwhile' could well mean 'worth my posting because I want to make note of it, or am happy that I'm keeping up my calendar'! Covering all bases. ;)

ANYWAY!

R introduced me to a student of his who took me to the Warsaw Uprising museum, and I was amazed at how such a huge chunk of history was missed out of my lessons about World War Two and the surrounding events... Poland has been the underdog quite a few times this past century, and of course history is never told from the underdog's point of view. It was fascinating to read, and explained a lot of little things I noticed when wandering around and meeting people. I won't give you a history of Poland here because I'm far from qualified but, fellow Blippers, if you're ever in Warsaw, this museum is an absolute must.

R's student was lovely (and looked ten years younger than she was). And more interesting academic-y dinners and more exhaustion on my part at the end of the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.