Mikey88

By Mikey88

Outnumbered

(See 29th October for next holiday installment)

The weather this morning wasn't suitable for using the hide, so I did a bit of cleaning round the house, had lunch and then went for a walk down by the river. The first thing I saw was an orange and black ladybird on the stile, so out came the macro. However, there wasn't much light around, so they weren't the sharpest of shots.

I continued on the walk and realised that the inside of the dyke around which the path runs was flooded. The local mallards were making the most of it and I thought it was a bit unusual having the ducks swimming around the tree trunks.

I managed to set up the tripod and take several shots without disturbing them, and even when I walked along the path, they didn't panic and continued swimming about. I think there must have been a lot more drakes than ducks in this year's broods. It could put a bit of pressure on the female next spring!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.