RexComu1

By RexComu1

Edinburgh Boogie Woogie

I see someone in the City Chambers has left the lights on. All the buggers burghers in this fair city will no doubt be up in arms at this profligacy.

I know why I took this , but as usual it didn't turn out the same as I'd pictured it in my head. It sort of reminded me of Mondrian's Broadway Boogie Woogie but - on reflection - perhaps not.

If you half close your eyes whilst gazing intently at it, and just before you nod off, you may get the impression of the "destruction of natural appearance; and construction through continuous opposition of pure means—dynamic rhythm." (1)

If that doesn't work for you then the alternative explanation is it's the view towards the High Street showing the back of the City Chambers, taking in Cockburn Street with Market Street in the foreground. With the lights on.

While you're trying to focus and before it all goes down the Swanee here's a little boogie woogie to help you in your search for dynamic rhythm.

(1) Mondrian's words, not mine

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.