The process makes the painting

I get lots of good quotes from my teacher Bill Buchman, like the one above in the title. I'm usually scribbling tons of notes while he lectures and demos. He told us today he believes in Teaching by Example, and that he certainly does.

This is my abstract mixed media piece shown above, done by following Bill's instructions. I think I did better than last week when I followed his instructions but went off on a tangent! Today he was explaining to everyone that his method was to show us certain steps that will enable us to create a painting. If we follow the steps we will come up with an interesting painting. He gives us a fail-safe formula and if we follow the techniques it will work! In class our goal is to stop doing our own thing and imitate what he is teaching us. I must say it is a challenge for me, but a good one. I am comfortable to go off on my own creatively, but I want to learn what Bill knows from his many years as an artist. I believe it will help me to be a better artist.

Learning to be an artist is getting to know yourself.
and . . .
Making marks is easy. Sitting down and doing it is the most difficult. All you need is a strategy. Any simple strategy. - Bill Buchman

Bill is a teacher, an artist, a poet and a musician. He has made a number of instructional videos, designed zen sumi brushes and pens and is the author of one book and is currently writing another. You can catch a peek of some of his paintings collected here.

For a 5 minute version on how Bill lectures/demos, check out this video I made with his encouragement in early 2012. He told us today he also taught by encouraging - to which he added , means to give courage. And that he does!
Last weeks class was blipped - if this intrigues you and you want to read and see more!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.