Grand Mosque

I was hoping to go for a trip to Abu Dhabi today but it turned out to be rather expensive so headed to Bur Dubai instead.

It's another old part of Dubai and, after dipping myself in factor 50, I took the metro down there. Wandered through the Bur Dubai Souk - pretty much the same stuff being sold as other souks but with more of an Indian/Pakistani feel.

Wandered round a little cultural centre that's being set up but only one gallery was open. Found a lovely vegetarian restaurant for lunch (I'm not veggie but the menu was too tempting!), and then strolled back to the metro along the Creek.

I was looking for Hindi Lane but couldn't find it, but I did come up against the Grand Mosque - rather an impressive facade I thought! There are two Hindu temples nearby - I really wanted to go into all of them but was not sure I was allowed!

Went back to the Mall of the Emirates and discovered that all the spices I bought at the Spice Souk were available in the supermarket, at a fraction of the price!! The guide books don't tell you THAT! Not so much fun with the bartering but I shall remember it for next year.

My last day in Dubai today, and I don't really feel ready to go home! I will be back next year though, to work on the same conference. Will no doubt tag a couple of days on to the end again and see if I can't get to Abu Dhabi then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.