Thirty No More

By MarkusMeerkat

Coopers Hill (almost)

Set out at lunchtime for a photo break (it's amazing how annoying it is working in an office with no natural light) and headed to Coopers Hill (of cheese rolling fame).

Unfortunately it's difficult to walk up steep leaf covered ground whilst wearing smooth soled work shoes.


Been thinking lots recently, and with a very tenuous link to the photo.... depression is not a walk in the park (well it could be a park couldn't it).

None of us choose to be depressed. We don't do it to receive attention or to piss people off, it just happens.

Some people may be able to put their finger on what is 'wrong', but not all of us. I've been trying for the last 5 years and still haven't identified the issue(s).

You can't tell someone to "cheer up" or "get over it". Modern life is proving harder for harder for people to deal with, and we are getting more and more distant from the traditional support networks of the extended family.

We are social animals.

We all need other people around to talk to.

Sometimes you don't even need to talk, but just to know that other people are there.

I grew up wanting to live in a house on my own on the middle of the moors, as I struggled with any social situation; yet when I finally spent a few days alone in the Lake district about 15 years ago I found the solitude too much.

I didn't realise how important that connection is until then.

People with depression need support (which is not always easiu for the people giving it), so please don't neglect your friends or loved ones.

Give them a ring, and see what they are doing. Ask if they want to go out at the weekend, invite them round for a meal or even a cup of coffee.

Life is too short, and we need to embrace it when we can.

I've never publicly come out and said I suffer from depression (although I guess I have now); but over the years I have told some people.

I've really struggled to except it, as there is this stigma about you being week; unable to cope etc.

Well why should we all be expected to cope?

Rather than focusing on the "not coping", how about we learn to be more supportive of people.

Ask them how they are doing.

Right, going to post this before I either delete it or waffle on a bit more.



Sorry Mark, that I didn't realise how bad things where. I wish you'd told me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.