SMaxwell

By SMax

Sagrada Familia, Barcelona, Catalunya

Another busy day in Barcelona with an early rise for me and a 30 minute taxi ride to the studios of Televisio de Catalunya, which is the public broadcasting network of Catalonia.

Great chat with the producer, presenter and other staff of 3/24 (including the essential translator) then it was on with the serious business of a 20 minute one to one TV interview. My usual TV appearances last less than 10 minutes and I am always with other people being interviewed at the same time, so it was an experience doing this one.

The most difficult thing about it was the fact that the interviewer spoke in Catalan and I had an earpiece into which a translator told me what was being said. I then answered in English, but it did result in a two second gap at the end of each question and answer while the translation caught up.

Another taxi ride back to the hotel, which meant not a lot of time to look around before heading to the airport so decided to grab a taxi to the Gaudi masterpiece, The Sagrada Familia and I am so glad I did. It is astonishing and yet it won't be finished until 2025!

I had no real idea what to expect, but it is a true work of genius. Absolutely stunning in every detail. I also bought a ticket for the Torre Passio (Passion Tower), which is just one of the towers in the building and that was well worth it as well. I took the lift up but walked back down the narrow stone stairs, which is definitely the best way to come back down as you get to see a whole lot of stuff you would have missed if you just got the lift back down.

My blip fails to do this building justice, but there are few photographs that could capture the scale, the atmosphere and the sheer beauty of the Sagrada Familia. If you are ever in Barcelona, do not miss it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.