The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Man In A Box

What a night! And to think I almost didn't buy a ticket!

Tonight I went back to Newport Centre for the first time in a very, very long time. I saw my first gig there back in 1986 ... Ronnie James Dio on the Dream Evil tour. This evening it was Alice In Chains, a band in have been into for almost as long. They were incredible.

First support were a band called Walking Papers. They have Duff from Guns N Roses in them. They are a pretty impressive rock band it has to be said. I highly recommend their new album.

Second up was the utterly ridiculous Ghost. Dressed as a satanic cardinal they sound a lot better than they look. They have a lot of blue oyster cult about them. I quite enjoyed them.

Alice In Chains have been around a long time. I did wonder if the set list would largely be the new stuff ... I needn't worry, there was loads of early material. This was Man In A Box a real AiC classic.

I've only seen two gigs this year ... I picked two belters though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.