Resident with camera

By Lawrie

Refusing refuse

Here in West Yorkshire the refuse collectors (bin men) are on strike. I'm not sure about the ins and outs of the dispute, the BBC have more details. However, just picking up on the media headlines it appears that some of their salaries will be cut by a third, from 18k to 12k per year, which, I think, is almost minimum wage. These guys are now picketing etc, and we are in the 9th day of the Strike. During which time they won't have been paid.

My bins are put out on Friday night, they are normally emptied before I get up on Saturday morning (not hard), although in fairness I think they come around before 7 am. They are clean and tidy, there is hardly ever the spilt contents of bins after they've been emptied, and from when I have seen them they are polite and chatty. It is not the most glamorous or pleasant job in the world.

Personally I'd rather slash a third of the salary off a variety of other professions (Bankers and MPs spring to mind).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.