Memories

Hamilton Public Library - Downtown Branch, York Street, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Happy Birthday Mum!

There’s no bond quite like that between mother and daughter. You knew me in ways no one else ever will. You also saw in me all the things I can still become and had the confidence that I can do and be whatever I want, no matter what my age. You were my biggest fan, my mentor, my confidant, my hero, my turn-to person when my world comes crashing down and you were the first person I would call to tell when things are going great. The comfort that came from our friendship, the confidence that your faith in me instilled, and your unquestioning support of whatever I do, is irreplaceable. The kind of there-for-me that you are is the very essence of what made you a great mother. I am reminded of your unconditional love and support every single day.

I am so blessed that I had you in my life. Thank you for always, always being at my side and having my back. No one was in my corner quite the way you were. I treasure you, and love you more than life itself. You were an amazing soul ever ready to learn something new, always open to differing opinions, and so compassionate and kind. You taught by example. I definitely would not be the person I am today without your guidance, advice, and pushing. All of my accomplishments can be traced to you and the values you instilled in me. You truly were my role model and the strongest woman I know. You are an inspiration. You were hard working, driven, and feisty. I miss you so much!!!

I miss your warmth, I miss your voice, I miss your smile, and I miss every moment we had together. For until now, I have never learned to live in a world where you are an intolerable distance away. Today would have been my mother‘s 79th birthday and there isn’t one day that goes by that I don’t think of her and wish I could call and here her voice. Even though she has been gone a 111/2 years, I still have a heavy heart when I realize I will never be hugged by her again, or get to share my day with her.

Love Always and Forever

Theresa

I used to go to Hamilton Public Library with my Mum all the time when I was a young girl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.