Budazest

By Budazest

Day 58

Trevor et. co. arrived today for the weekend. To be quite honest, I was a bit nervous about hosting all three of them in our apartment. It is not that we lack space, rather I had no clue how to play host, balance work, and ensure that bringing in three guests wouldn't disrupt Caelie's life. (Turns out it was really, really great hosting them: some good conversations, some mulled wine, and some wanderings around the Danube at night.)

Caelie and I spent the entire morning cleaning the apartment (mopping!), and waited for them to arrive.

After the Trevor et. co. went out to explore Budapest, Caelie and I headed over to Margaret Island to explore some magnificent, both in terms of size and beauty, open fields. Caelie (mildly?) tolerated my photo/video taking. I've been visiting this place (photo above) a lot lately. The mass of leaves on the ground, the wonky trees, and the feeling of being encased remind me of fall elsewhere. I like things like that: being somewhere (Budapest), but feeling like I could be somewhere else (North East). I like that, and the feeling of being in a place that is so singularly and distinctively itself. (If it's not already clear, I like extremes.)

We wrapped up the evening by bailing as hosts and going to the vegan restaurant to indulge in all things delicious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.