Bits Bobs and Bats

By vix

BACK BLIP ALERT - 2010 - Anabel, my finest hour.

So on the due date of Watson #3, 21/11/2013, I have decided that it would be fitting to back blip the birth of Watson #2, Anabel, born on the 7/8/2010. This is something I have always intended to do as it was a monumentally proud moment in my life and now it may also serve the purpose of allaying some thoughts, fears and anxieties that are naturally plaguing me around this time.

The Home birth of Anabel could not have gone better (well it could have been pain free and lasted 10 minutes but reality must prevail with regards to the actualities of childbirth). A slow start to begin with but when we were rocking and rolling, me equipped with my tens machine and Andy equipped with his stop watch, we hit a nice routine and the 3 hours or so it took to the actual birth went quickly and was controllable. I distinctly remember a moment, whilst listening to Radio six music between contractions, hearing Foxy Lady by Jimmy Hendrix. This served to transport me back to my youth and it seemed so fitting, like a circle in my life had been successfully followed, a circle peppered with all the mistakes, rites of passage, heartache and pleasure that went with realising adulthood and that circle was about to be sealed, just in time for a new person's circle to begin.

Without going into gory details which may shock or even glorify the 'second stage' of childbirth, we got her out over my sofa (that was suitably covered up, I might add for those who may happen to visit) with the help of a bit of gas and air, an extra midwife, who me and Andy were convinced we recognised from years gone by (yes a potential ex raver, how reassuring!) and the lovely Irish Mary who had been unobtrusively tending to this birth from the start. There was a small problem with meconium (babies poo for those not in the know) showing up in the waters once they finally broke but that made us all the more determined to get that constantly receding baby out!

She arrived and didn't cry and the 'new' midwife (I like to think of her as the Mary Poppins of Midwifery) said something quite magical that has always stayed with me and Andy which was, 'This one has been here before.' And right enough, Anabel has always had a certain unphasable quality about her that fits that statement.

Cut to an hour or so later, Midwives have cleared up and gone, baby feeding well, tired but contented, me and Andy enjoying a cheeky glass of white wine with 'Come Dine With Me' on the telly before the well wishers descend. The sense of achievement that I had managed to deliver an actual person relying mainly on the hope that my body would do what it was made to do with no real complications (as the design faults and risk of things that can go wrong are too many to mention and whoever thought that it was a good idea to squeeze a baby out of there anyway?) was incredible.

Any birth of a child is a huge achievement, no matter how it is delivered, let me make that clear. As long as everyone is well and happy then that is the main thing and what happens afterwards is the really important journey.

However, for me it was a real buzz. I really had no expectations of being able to manage or cope with a home birth. The night before I was crying to Andy that I had no right to attempt this as that level of bravery/stupidity/insanity was not for me! Achieve it I did however with a bit of help from my husband and a technique called 'braying like a stuck Ox', a small treat for the entire street and neighbours (it was August, hot and the window was open).

#3 Watson was something I had dreamed of for a while and then put to bed, reconciled with the prospect of a wonderful life with my two girls Eve and Anabel. 2013 was to be a year of fun, planning for the future, new job possibilities and a real concious effort to begin exploring some things such as writing and drawing, that I had been too busy living life to bother with up until now.

Yet here I find myself again about to embark on another journey with another new person and all the madness that entails. This pregnancy was not planned and took us by surprise. However once all the initial head footering was finished with, the prospect of a new Watson has been greedily and excitedly embraced!

I have been even more nervous and trepiditious about this birth. We have planned another home birth and I am hoping that things go as well as last time, the idea that I have perhaps outlived my luck weighs heavily. However it is good to revisit passed achievements and realise that yes, it was me that did that and why shouldn't you be able to do it again?

Now begins the waiting game... Anabel arrived on her due date (of course, no point in messing about with this extra time rubbish) but I have a feeling this one may take longer.

What lies within? Who ARE you? How will we all cope with a new Watson in the family? Come out baby we want to meet you! (and do me the favour of having a small head if at all possible...)



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.