PurbeckDavid49

By PurbeckDavid49

The house that wasn't there

A charming and dignified early 18th century house, which survived the Great Fire of Wareham of 1762.

It had for years and years been well hidden behind a high, unkempt evergreen hedge, of Portugal laurel (prunus lusitanica) or the like. When walking past, you could just make out its shaded steps and front door. Nothing more.

Last Saturday we went inside for the first time, it was open for a "bring and buy" and refreshments in aid of Save the Children. Even then, I didn't take in what had happened. It was only today, when walking on the opposite side of South Street, that I realised that the hedge was missing. Time to take a photo, quick, before the hedge regrew and the status quo ante was restored. Thanks to Blipfoto, I had my camera on me; otherwise I would probably not have noticed the change, and might for years to come continue to believe that the house was not there.

Manor House, South Street, Wareham. Its facade is of ashlar, the remaining three walls of brick with stone dressings. The interior is delightful, its fittings have undergone few changes during the last three centuries.

Built in 1712. A grade I listed building.


What a discovery to have made, after several decades of life in Purbeck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.