Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Boundary

guarding
the boundary
between earth
and sky
one tree


There are still footpaths in my locale that I haven't yet explored. The fabulous network of historic rights of way, together with the hard-won freedom to roam on much of the northern uplands, seems to provide endless possibilities and variations for walks.

Today I headed out of the back gate and descended the moor to cross Gill Beck (a boundary between the cities of Bradford and Leeds), and then climbing through Spring Wood and a variety of boggy pastures toward Hawksworth, where a path led me across the fields to Guiseley, a spot of urban exploration and then the train back home.

This lone tree was on the approach to Hawksworth, on the slopes of Honey Joan Hill. I was at the bottom of a steep slope, which added to the atmosphere of the lone tree set against the big blue sky above.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.