Sunset Over Happy Valley

Dedicated to the memory of Joseph Vincent Paterno.

I am often out and about at sunrise, but somehow, hardly ever for sunsets. On this day, I was fortunate enough to witness a truly outstanding sunset over Happy Valley.

In the distance is one of our most famous landmarks, Beaver Stadium, which some used to call (and many of the Penn State faithful still do) "the house that Joe built."

When Joe Paterno died in January of 2012 (more on that here and in the several following blips), they left the stadium lights on for three days.

I think of that now, every time I look at the stadium. And especially I remember at moments like this, as the fire of the sun turns the skies red for one last celebration of life before the darkness claims us all.

The song: Elton John and George Michael, Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me.

P.S. I've fallen a bit behind, and needed to post two blips on this day to catch up, so be sure to check out today's other posting, A Murder of Crows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.