Chrysanthemum

By Chrysanthemum

Dark Rose

Recently I bought a book of photographic projects from a discount book store. The first project in the book is a low-key portrait of a flower. This is my attempt. My aim, as per the guideline given in the book, was that the photo should be made up of 'a high proportion of shadow areas, with the midtones seemingly emerging from the shadows’. The book further advised that highlights are quite rare in low-key photographs. I did try, but I still have questions I am hoping for help with. Are the shadow areas supposed to be completely blocked up? On most of my attempts they aren’t, even with an exposure compensation value of -5 dialled in. Looking at the illustration in the book however, it might seem that they are supposed to be blocked up, so I darkened mine a bit. Can anyone give me some pointers regarding this type of photography, please? Are there any ‘rules’ relating to low-key? All advices will be gratefully received.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.