The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Wild and woolly

The bovine ladies and lads of the Knott were looking windblown this morning after the overnight gale. The winds stripped the beech trees of their leaves, and deposited them in drifts against the walls and gates. At dusk yesterday it was still autumn, this morning it was winter, the trees skeletal and stark against the sky.

I do like the way conservation cows who eat real grass often have a piece of straw hanging from the corner of their mouths, proper country girls. This photo may be a bit soft and noisy, the light was very poor before the sun rose, and Gus and I had to be back home in time for me to get packed and off to an all day meeting in Penrith. Tomorrow will be another day where the outdoor blip opportunities will be few, and I have an early start that means I shall miss my morning walk with Gus. But Gus will be happy as he will be with Wifie, as he was today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.