The shades of time

On this day 50 years ago I was competing in piano classes at the Northampton Eisteddfod. I have no recollection of what I played or how I got on, but I do remember that when I got home, eager to tell my parents about it, they told me to be quiet because there was a news flash on the TV about JFK having been shot in Dallas.

Today is also St Cecilia's Day - the patron saint of music - and the 100th anniversary of the birth of Benjamin Britten. This evening we are going to a concert - nay, A Gala Recital! - being given by the wonderful Welsh pianist Llyr Williams in the National Museum in Cardiff. It evidently recalls one given there by Britten himself in 1967.

And this is the first blip with my new camera. I haven't read the manual yet, but I've left it dark deliberately!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.