Apothecary

By Apothecary

Rankin inspired photo shoot

As part of my A-level photography, we are asked to explore portraiture. Our class teacher thought that a well known photographer to study is Rankin. As Rankin is a famous studio photographer, i borrowed the studio set and lighting from the school and asked my girlfriend to be the subject.

In regards to my camera settings, i have no idea. I probobly used a medium ISO, shutter speed of about 200 and a higher f number.

After the photo was captured, i edited it in CS5 photoshop. I started by changing the levels and curves, followed by the quick mask of black and white except the lips.

After this, i spot healed blemishes of the skin and clothing, followed by using the burn and dodge tool on the eyes, hair and clothing. My teacher then said i should burn the corners to add effect, i think it could of been done better, what do you think?

Overall, this is my best studio shot yet, and i hope i can do more similar.
Comments please :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.